Home > TWIWD > WDW Bus Transportation

WDW Bus Transportation

My family and I have been to Walt Disney World countless times, and whether we drive our car to the resort, or on the occasion we fly, we always prefer to ride Disney’s busses while staying on property. I know many other frequent visitors to WDW detest the busses and avoid them unless absolutely necessary. For us though, we don’t mind waiting for and riding the bus, even when there’s a wait involved or they’re really crowded. Not that we always enjoy it, but I think since we live in a suburban community, where we are in our cars driving everywhere all the time, riding the bus when we’re on vacation isn’t really an inconvenience for us. In fact, I quite prefer it, as it’s just one less thing for me to have to worry about in my escape from reality while on vacation at WDW.

However, even though it allows me the opportunity to relax and not worry about how to get to the park, or parking and trams and then finding the car at the end of the day, sometimes riding the bus at WDW is anything but enjoyable. On occasion we’ve had the bus driver who seems to have trouble with starting and stopping smoothly. If you’ve ridden very many busses while standing, you know what I mean. It seems the driver has a heavy foot that slams the gas/break pedal to the floor and consequently almost manages to do the same to you in their actions.

Recently, I started wondering if there wasn’t a way to monitor this and perhaps help improve the drivers as well as improve upon the guest experience. My curiosity got the best of me and I Googled a few different things before I finally discovered a few interesting solutions that seem like they would be ideal for WDW as well as many other businesses with a fleet of vehicles, whether they’re hauling passengers, freight or just company cars.

First, I present what would seem to be the perfect commercial solution and provide the kind of detailed information needed to address the issue of quick starts and stops and even reckless driving.

Geotab

A couple of interesting features from the Geotab product include monitoring for safe driving, but also efficient driving. The products can alert the drivers as well send alerts to a remote location of aggressive and reckless driving as well as potential accident situations.

The next option is something on a much smaller scale, in a couple of apps for the iPhone/iPod that essentially do the same as the Geotab product but is intended for more personal use. I should add that these appeal to me personally as well, since I have two teenagers that are just starting to drive. I don’t have a review to offer on these just yet, but I have downloaded them and started playing with them a bit to see what kind of response and feedback they give. I would really like to test these out on a bus or two on my next trip just for fun though.

Essence Computing – Driving Monitor

Dangerous Decisions, LLC Safe Driving app

 

Disclaimer: I am in no way endorsing or being paid by any of the aforementioned companies to represent their products. I offer this information solely as a means of identifying potential solutions to a problem I have personally experienced and would like to see Disney address.

  1. April 29, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    When you think about it, the bus ride that guests take to begin their day is really the preshow for the parks as a whole. It’s that all important preface to the story. Solving this problem isn’t so far from what Imagineering should be all about—telling a complete story to enhance and perfect guest experience. It’s a great idea.

    • GrumpyFan
      April 30, 2012 at 9:18 am

      I hadn’t really thought about it that way, but you’re right. The bus ride is part of the pre-show to the parks, and a bad ride could make for a rough start or introduction of that show. Thanks for you comments.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Magical World of Walt

A look at the magic Walt brough into the world

Disney At Work

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Imagineering Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Progress City, U.S.A.

Disney news, history, opinion, and more - broadcasting from beautiful downtown Progress City, U.S.A.!

Ideal Buildout

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Theme Park University

Stories on Themed Entertainment

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience: Stories, Insights and Previews from the Author of the Series

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

