Home > Imagineering > Happy 5th Birthday EE & the Yeti

Happy 5th Birthday EE & the Yeti

My apologies. I know I haven’t posted much this year, and this post is a bit of a departure. More to come later I hope.

Five years ago (April 7, 2006), Disney opened their latest themed mountain and E-ticket attraction at Animal Kingdom, Expedition Everest. In my opinion, it’s one of the finest examples of a themed attraction with a great story woven, not just into the queue and attraction, but the surrounding areas. So, today, in celebration of the attraction’s 5th birthday, I bring a few of my own pictures from around the attraction, plus something special.

First, a few pictures from around the village. I believe these are on the walls outside the “hotel”, where the bathrooms are located, as you approach the attraction. I’m guessing most people just pass right by here without paying much attention. But, if you stop, and read some of the “propaganda”, the story begins.

Disney09_Oct20 057

Disney09_Oct20 058

Just one of my favorite, far-off shots of the mountain, taken from the bridge that leads into Harambe.

100_3196

Here’s something I stumbled upon recently, at a bargain book shelf. I imagine these were souvenirs that were only sold in the EE gift shop after the attraction opened. For a Disney Imagineering junkie like myself, it was a real treasure to find. It’s a fun read, with pictures of Joe Rohde and his team as they explored the region and the legend of the Yeti. In it, you will find pictures of some of the buildings they used as models for the attractions, as well as some of the early concept drawings of the Yeti.

SCAN0062SCAN0065SCAN0066SCAN0067SCAN0063SCAN0064

Most Disney fans know that the Yeti has been “broken” for a couple of years and has remained stationary with strobe lights for effect, instead of the full motion he was designed for where he would sweep his arm very close to passing trains. There have been a few different rumors as to what the problem was, but seemingly nothing was being done to fix him, until recently. Sometime in early March, the Yeti went completely missing, or he was behind a big tarp with no light whatsoever cast on him. It is my hope, and I’m sure many others’ that a solution to fix him is finally in the works, just in time for his 5th birthday.

So, here’s a big Happy Birthday, to Expedition Everest, and high hopes that he will return for a big, scary celebration with full motion restored to the original design!

 

Categories: Imagineering
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Magical World of Walt

A look at the magic Walt brough into the world

Disney At Work

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Imagineering Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Progress City, U.S.A.

Disney news, history, opinion, and more - broadcasting from beautiful downtown Progress City, U.S.A.!

Ideal Buildout

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Theme Park University

Stories on Themed Entertainment

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

The Intelligent Agent

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

