Home > Imagineering, Randomness > National Volunteer Day

National Volunteer Day

I thought since elections are taking place today, it might be a good idea to re-post this.

Vote for Mickey button

Today is voting day here in Texas and many other states, and while I was thinking about who and what I’m voting for, I had the thought that it would be really cool if it were a holiday. Then, that led me to wonder how I would spend it. I’m too far away to take a day trip to Disney, buuut… what if our government could offer some sort of incentive to citizens who voted and volunteered, kind of like how Disney had the Give a day, Get a day celebration. I know, I know, there’s probably some legal ramifications and all, but just go with me here, we’re Imagineering.

They could call it National Volunteer Day, or Citizenship Day or Patriot’s Day, or something along those lines. It would require a state or national law to make it happen, but here’s how I think it should work, if it ever became reality.

  • Once or twice a year, or on voting day, there would be a national holiday set aside
  • Students in college and grade school would get the day off, and of course banks, post offices, etc. Optionally, they could issue extra credit for student involvement
  • All private businesses would be optional, but there would be tax incentives to both the business and employees who participated
  • Local and state governments would be responsible for organizing volunteer teams and organization
  • Businesses, churches, local organizations, schools could sign up for tasks around the community
  • Businesses or organizations that contributed supplies, food or equipment to be used during the national day would receive a tax incentive

Projects could include:

  • Road-side cleanup
  • Parks and recreation areas
  • Schools
  • Local community centers
  • Low income areas
  • Other?

It’s a crazy idea, yes, but it’s also a good idea too because it gets people involved in their communities. I think about the early days of our nation, and I’ve read how people in their communities and townships used to pitch in and work together to help build community buildings and even each other’s buildings including houses and barns. I don’t know what this was like, I’ve only seen it portrayed in numerous movies, but I’m hoping and guessing it was as much fun as most films portray. I have, however, personally witnessed this kind of community involvement and people pulling together and helping one another. Almost 2 years ago after hurricane Ike came thru Houston and left a mess of debris, interrupted power and lives for a week or more, I saw people working together cleaning up, lending things to each other, sharing power, food, water and all kinds of things. It should have been a time of stress and woe, but for me and my family and our friends and neighbors it was actually a time of great fellowship and brotherhood where we spent quality time with each other that I haven’t seen since the power was restored.

I would go so far as to say that during this time in our nation when we’re struggling financially, and many are out of work or struggling to make ends meet, something like this is just what we need to restore pride in our country and ourselves.

Regardless of whether this idea is ever considered or made a national holiday, everyone should go vote, it’s what our forefathers fought so hard for!

Categories: Imagineering, Randomness Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Magical World of Walt

A look at the magic Walt brough into the world

Disney At Work

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Imagineering Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Progress City, U.S.A.

Disney news, history, opinion, and more - broadcasting from beautiful downtown Progress City, U.S.A.!

Ideal Buildout

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Theme Park University

Stories on Themed Entertainment

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

The Intelligent Agent

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

