Home > News > 2009 Disney Attendance Estimates

2009 Disney Attendance Estimates

The Themed Entertainment Association (TEA) has released their 2009 theme park attendance report, and I’ve updated my Historic WDW Attendance levels spreadsheet showing the attendance levels as far back as I could find. Surprisingly, to me at least, WDW’s attendance grew at almost 1% (.81 to be exact) compared to last year.  The exact numbers are:

Magic Kingdom:  17.23 million 1%  higher
Epcot:  10.99    .5%
Disney’s Hollywood Studios:   9.70    1%
Disney’s Animal Kingdom:  9.59   .5%

Overall:    47.51 million  vs  47.13 for 2008

WDW water parks maintained steady numbers from 2008 with maybe just a slight bump from 2009:

Typhoon Lagoon:   2.05  million
Blizzard Beach:  1.89

While most North American theme parks declined in 2009 due to a weakened economy, Disney saw increases at all their parks. But the Disneyland resort in California was the biggest winner:

Disneyland:    15.9 million 8% higher
Disney’s California Adventure:  6.09   9.5% higher

Here’s to hoping that 2010 is equally as good for Disney. I’ll do what I can to help, but I would like to see some discounts for October, please.

Click the links above for more details.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Magical World of Walt

A look at the magic Walt brough into the world

Disney At Work

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Imagineering Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Progress City, U.S.A.

Disney news, history, opinion, and more - broadcasting from beautiful downtown Progress City, U.S.A.!

Ideal Buildout

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Theme Park University

Stories on Themed Entertainment

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

The Intelligent Agent

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

