Home > Imagineering, News > Fast Pass Coupon

Fast Pass Coupon

WDW Daily News reported recently that the current Magic Kingdom park guides/map have a 20% off coupon in them for dining, which  reminds me of an idea I had several years ago on one of my very first trips to WDW. I was quite impressed with the Fast Pass when I first discovered it, but right away I saw an opportunity to make it even better for both Disney and potentially the guest. In fact, I thought this idea was so good, that I wrote it up and sent it off to Disney in the mail. Of course, they were very kind in their response with their legal form letter advising me that they didn’t accept outside ideas.

Disney's Fast Pass Coupons

The idea was to print discount coupons for food or merchandise on the back of the Fast Pass. What better way to spend your time (as far as Disney is concerned) than to go spend some money. I know what you’re saying, No thanks, I already spend way to much at Disney, that’s the last thing I need. And really, I might agree with you. But, just picture this. It’s the middle of the afternoon and you just got a Fast Pass for Space Mountain that has you coming back at 7pm! Okay, so now what do you do? Buzz Lightyear has a 90-minute wait, and Monsters Inc. Laugh Floor is about 60 minutes, then you notice on the back of the coupon, “FREE POPCORN with purchase of a 20 oz soda or water” or “Buy one Get one FREE ice cream product”! Or, maybe it’s a coupon for a discount on clothing or other merchandise. If they were smart about it, they could even make the discounts appropriate to the time of day or weather conditions. So, if it were one of those hot summer days in Florida, they might print you a coupon for drinks or ice cream. If it was late in the day, maybe they would print you a coupon for merchandise or a discount at a restaurant.

From what I’ve heard, in-park spending has declined significantly over the last few years. So, wouldn’t something like this help to maybe push up sales some? I mean think about it. If you’ve got a discount, aren’t you more likely to try to find a way to use it? If you’re like most people, the answer here is yes, you would. And why not? I mean, if you’ve got to wait for your time to come back and ride, and the parks are crowded, why not go buy a drink or snack or maybe that souvenir you saw and now that you’ve got a discount wouldn’t you be a little bit more likely to buy it?

So, whether they want to “officially” accept my outside idea or not, I really think they should, and I believe it would help increase in-park spending. So, here I offer it for free, no strings attached. Sure, money would be nice in return for using my idea or maybe even a few of those new Premier Passports for me and my family, good for use at both Disneyland and WDW that they just announced. Hey, I can dream, right?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Magical World of Walt

A look at the magic Walt brough into the world

Disney At Work

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Imagineering Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Progress City, U.S.A.

Disney news, history, opinion, and more - broadcasting from beautiful downtown Progress City, U.S.A.!

Ideal Buildout

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Theme Park University

Stories on Themed Entertainment

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

The Intelligent Agent

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

