Home > Imagineering > Disney Character GPS Voices

Disney Character GPS Voices

My wife and were driving in the car today, running some errands and we had our GPS turned on and giving directions to help find the place we were headed. The standard voice was getting a little monotonous though because we decided to take a diversion and get something to drink. When all of a sudden, both my wife and just started talking about how neat it would be if we could get our favorite Disney characters to talk to us and give us directions. I mean, how cool would it be to hear any of the following:

Mickey Mouse – “Say Pal, where are we headed today”, “Oh-oh, looks like we missed the turn, hold on while I find a new way”

Minnie Mouse – “Turn right at the next street”

Goofy – “Gawrsh, I think we missed the turn, hold on a minute and I’ll figure it out”

Sheriff Woody, Buzz Lightyear, Timone and Pumba, Lilo and Stitch, or any of the many other great characters.

Just think about how much fun it would be to have all your favorite characters giving directions on your GPS.  And kids would love it (as well as a few adults too). It could make a routine trip to the store a lot more fun when you’ve got your favorite Disney character giving directions.

So, Disney should send a few of their voice actors to the studio for a half day and record the 60 or so common sayings for GPS devices, then release these for sell on their web-site or others. Or, they could even partner with a specific GPS manufacturer and build a Disney-branded GPS device with the voices already built-in.

Update 7/14/10

After publishing this, I saw where TomTom has recorded several voices from Star Wars, including Darth Vader and Yoda. They made a couple of videos advertising the recording sessions which are quite funny and worth a watch. This would seem to prove that my idea for Disney doing this might also be a good idea.

  1. mel
    September 25, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Tons of people have had this idea

    • GrumpyFan
      September 25, 2011 at 11:23 pm

      Thanks for the comment. When I wrote this, I could not find any references to any other ideas of posts like it, but I’m sure plenty of others have thought of it.
      I’m sure it’s not an original idea, but, I’m also surprised Disney hasn’t done anything like this yet.

  1. December 31, 2010 at 2:30 am

Leave a Reply

Magical World of Walt

A look at the magic Walt brough into the world

Disney At Work

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Imagineering Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Progress City, U.S.A.

Disney news, history, opinion, and more - broadcasting from beautiful downtown Progress City, U.S.A.!

Ideal Buildout

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Theme Park University

Stories on Themed Entertainment

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience: Stories, Insights and Previews from the Author of the Series

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

