Home > Imagineering, News > KUKA RoboSim 4-D debuts at Innoventions in EPCOT

KUKA RoboSim 4-D debuts at Innoventions in EPCOT

This is yet another example of Theme Parks 2.0.  The new Sum of all Thrills attraction sponsored by Raytheon in Innoventions at Epcot debuts this month using new interactive technology by KUKA Robotics. Check the link for more details. I seem to remember reading elsewhere, that there are 4 of these in the attraction. Guests will design a roller coaster, jet plane, or bobsled ride using real-life physics and engineering and then ride it within one of the robot arm-based simulators. Below is a picture of one of the RoboSim vehicles.

KUKA Robotics Corporation Introduces RoboSim 4-D Simulator at INNOVENTIONS in Epcot at the Walt Disney World Resort

Update: I got a chance to ride this on 10/21/09. Overall, I would say it’s just okay. I would rate it a 5 out of 10 on the thrill scale, which is sad because I was expecting a lot  more. I hate to compare it to the obvious, Cyber Space Mountain at Disney Quest, but that’s the closest thing I can compare it to. While I would love to say this is version 2.0 of that attraction, I think that would be a big stretch. The ride motions seem slow and while it does tilt you upside down, it doesn’t exactly spin you all the way around like Cyber Space Mountain does.  The onscreen graphics aren’t any better either, maybe a bit crisper but not what I would have expected in comparison to home video games and consoles like Xbox360 and PS3. In short, it’s worth trying once, but I probably won’t be going out of my way again to experience this unless I’ve got nothing else to do.

 

  1. January 27, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in fact was once a entertainment account it.
    Glance complicated to far brought agreeable from you! By
    the way, how can we keep in touch?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Magical World of Walt

A look at the magic Walt brough into the world

Disney At Work

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Imagineering Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Progress City, U.S.A.

Disney news, history, opinion, and more - broadcasting from beautiful downtown Progress City, U.S.A.!

Ideal Buildout

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Theme Park University

Stories on Themed Entertainment

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

The Intelligent Agent

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

