Home > News > Mickey & Marvel?

Mickey & Marvel?

By now most everyone has probably heard about Disney’s intent to acquire Marvel for $4 Billion. And, if you’re like me and most Disney (and Marvel) fans, you’re probably scratching you’re head wondering what gives? What possible interest could Disney have in Marvel? And, how do their character mesh with Mickey, Minnie, Donald and Goofy?  Sure, buying Pixar made perfect sense, and was a deal that should have been done when Eisner was around, but let’s just leave that alone. Buying Jim Henson’s Muppet’s was somewhat questionable, and to me has been disappointing considering how little those properties have been utilized since that acquisition, but, at least those characters kinda fit in with the rest of Disney’s lineup of family friendly characters. This, on the surface just doesn’t seem to work.

Call me a skeptic, but I don’t see any immediate benefit in this. Perhaps,  down the road a bit this will have a return, but for now Marvel just has too many already standing commitments that will limit any real profit-taking on Disney’s part. I’m certain I don’t have the big picture in this, I mean, obviously they have something else in mind, and a longer term benefit here, and hopefully so.

Perhaps the best potential I see in this in the near term will be if  they can get some new content for their new Disney XD channel, which is aimed primarily at t(w)een boys. However, even ramping up production on something along those lines using Marvel characters may take a little while before they see anything from it. And, will it even come close to producing a return on their $4 Billion investment? For that kind of money, Disney could have a bought a boat load of talented people or maybe a couple of studios to produce the content they’re looking for.

It’s been reported that Marvel currently has deals in place with Paramount for the next five Marvel superhero movies, Sony has a deal in place for any forthcoming Spiderman sequels and Fox has the X-men characters locked up. I’ve heard that there are over 5000 characters in the Marvel line up, but a quick check of Wikipedia, didn’t produce a lot that I’m personally familiar with, and my guess would be that the average Joe wouldn’t either. So, what’s the benefit here that Disney is hoping to gain? Surely, there’s something more that I’m not seeing, right?

For myself, and probably many others, this has me asking several questions that will hopefully be answered sooner rather than later:

  1. What is the goal here of Disney purchasing Marvel? Is it purely financial as a holding entity, or are they hoping to gain access to the Marvel library for new creations on TV, Film, Internet, Gaming, etc?
  2. What will happen with the current Marvel properties on film, and at other theme parks?
  3. Will there be any Marvel properties brought to the Disney parks?

That’s off the cuff, I’m sure I’ll think of more later. How about you though? How does this strike you? Good, Bad, Not sure? Comments are welcome.

Categories: News Tags: ,
  1. October 1, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    • grumpyfan
      October 1, 2009 at 1:52 pm

      Thanks for the compliment. I started this because I’ve got a lot of ideas about how to add to and/or improve the parks. The hard part is finding the time to polish my ideas and publish them. It’s time consuming sometimes, but fun. Hopefully, as time goes by I’ll get better, and quicker at the process. Thanks again for stopping by and taking the time to add your comments.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

keystothekingdombook

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Whenever I go on a ride, I'm always thinking of what's wrong with the thing and how it can be improved. – Walt Disney

Sentience Series: An Inside Look

Thoughts and extras from the author of the Sentience series

From dreamer... to Dreamfinder

40 Years Behind a Nametag

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

